Havant Small Business & Community Awards 2019 - Nominate Now

Residents can now submit nominations for Alan's Small Business & Community Awards.

This year the awards have been revamped, as Alan organises them for a fourth year in a row. Residents can now nominate people who have not only been successful running small businesses but also people who do great work for the community, for example running a voluntary organisation.

Award categories include Best Independent Food Outlet, Outstanding Contribution to the Community, Best New Business, Best Apprentice, Best Community Group, Green Business of the Year, Local Charity of the Year, Best Local Tradesperson, Volunteer of the Year, Sports Group of the Year and Best Pub.

Alan said: "Every year I receive hundreds of nominations for these Awards for so many worthwhile and hard-working residents and I’m sure this year will be no different.

"Whether it is your favourite café, restaurant or shop – or you want to recognise a community champion who has gone the extra mile – please send me your nominations online."

All nominations must be for businesses or individuals based the Havant Parliamentary Constituency, which covers Havant Town, Emsworth, Hayling Island, Bedhampton, Langstone, Purbrook, Stakes, Widley and Leigh Park.

Everyone who nominates will be entered into a prize draw to win tickets to the Awards ceremony and a bottle of House of Commons Champagne.

To nominate click here



Small Business Awards 2018

On Friday the 2nd of November 2018, Havant celebrated its third annual Small Business Awards with Alan Mak MP. The event was a celebration of our community and all the tenacious, hard-working independent businessmen and women who together play a crucial role in making it possible.

Businesses from across the constituency found success on the night, with winners coming from Havant town, Hayling Island, Emsworth and beyond. The overall winners were The Westleigh, pub and live music venue operated by Havant & Waterlooville Football Club.

List of 2018 winners:

Best Takeaway

Winner — Le Petit Pain

Runner-up — Mother Kelly's Fish and Chips

Runner-up — Whistler's Fish & Chips

Runner-up — Coastguard Café

Best Café

Winner — The Spring Arts & Heritage Centre

Runner-up — Ruby's Tearoom

Runner-up — Boswell's Café

Best Pub

Winner — The Westleigh

Runner-up — The Lifeboat inn

Runner-up — Ralph's Wine, Gin and Tapas Bar

Runner-up — The Leigh Park Trade Union Working Men's Club

Best Restaurant

Winner — Chef Sam @33

Runner-up — Ferry Boat Inn

Runner-up — The Wheelwright's Arms

Best Health and Beauty Business

Winner — DeBeaut by Della and Donna

Runner-up — The Beauty Studio

Runner-up —Kuru

Best Family Business

Winner — Hayling Cycles

Runner-up — Pallant House Play Cafe

Runner-up — Bentley Walker

Best New Business

Winner — Southern Energy Training Academy

Runner-up — Ginga Auto Body Repairs

Runner-up — Brayber Group Recruitment

Best Local Tradesperson

Winner — Ginga Auto Body Repairs

Runner-up — Assprin Glazing

Runner-up — Grate Fyres

Best Street Vendor or Home-Based Business

Winner — Harry's Sausages

Runner-up — Look Foxy

Runner-up — Happy Tailz

Business Personality of the Year

Winner — Kelly Edney

Runner-up — Nerine Bloomfield Strawn

Best Contribution to the Community

Winner — Angel Radio

Runner-up — Southern Energy Training Academy

Runner-up — Jacqui Unal of 19 Fourteas Tearoom

Best Apprentice

Winner — Connor Duffy

Havant Small Business of the Year 2018

Winner — The Westleigh

List of 2017 winners:

Best Takeaway

Winner - Timeout Café

Runner-up – Stoked Kitchen Wood Fired Catering

Runner-up – Deep Blue Chippy


Best Café

Winner – Boswells Café

Runner-up – Play Café

Runner-up – Pantry Café


Best Pub

Winner – The Lifeboat

Runner-up – Wheelwright Arms

Runner-up – The Royal Oak


Best Restaurant

Winner – Coastguard Café

Runner-up – Chili and Lime

Runner-up – Nicolinos


Best Health and Beauty Business

Winner - Kuru

Runner-up - Le Mane

Runner-up – The Chapel Medi Spa


Best Family Business

Winner - Treagust Butchers

Runner-up - L and P Carpets

Runner-up – CJ Meats


Best New Business

Winner - Astares

Runner-up - Selfies Salon

Runner-up - Pleasantly Plump


Best Local Tradesperson

Winner - Perfect Plumbing

Runner-up - B.C Flooring

Runner-up - Michael Dobson


Best Street Vendor or Home-Based Business

Winner – WagTimes

Runner-up – Innovation Fitness


Business Personality of the Year

Winner - Jacqui Unal (19 Fourteas Tearoom)

Runner-up – Emma Weatherstone

Runner-up - Philippa Oakley


Best Contribution to the Community

Winner – Colin Hill (Baker Trayte Marine/Hayling Ferry)

Runner-up – Colin Walker (WRUK Ltd)

Runner-up – Scott Ware


Best Apprentice

Winner - Abigail Gigg (The Chapel Medi Spa)

Runner-up - Beth Stephens (Smart Louvre)


Havant Small Business of the Year 2017

Winner - Baker Trayte Marine/Hayling Ferry



2016 Winners and Finalists:


  • Best Pub:  Winner - The Blue Bell Inn (Emsworth)

                          Finalists - The Old House at Home (Havant) / The Coal Exchange (Emsworth)


  • Best Family Business:  Winner - Fresh From the Boat (Emsworth)

                                               Finalists - Cut 'n' Dry Hair Salon (Purbrook) / 19 Fourteas Tea Rooms (Havant)


  • Best Takeaway: Winner - The Coastguard Cafe (Hayling Island)

                                    Finalists - Taste of India (Emsworth) / Sophie's Kebab (Havant)


  • Best Street Vendor / Home-based Business: Winner - Innovations Fitness (Emsworth)

                                                                                      Finalists - The Dust Dolly (Havant) / Polka Dot Cakes (Havant) 


  • Best Health and Beauty Business: Winner - Chapel Medi-Spa (Havant)

                                                                     Finalists - The Hair Advice Centre (Hayling Island) / Headromance (Havant)


  • Best Cafe:  Winner - 19 Fourteas Tea Rooms (Havant)

                           Finalists - Driftwood Cafe (Emsworth) / Lavender Tea Rooms (Havant)


  • Best Restaurant: Winner - Fat Olives (Emsworth)

                                      Finalists - Grastar (Havant) / The Ship Inn (Langstone)


  • Apprentice of the Year:  Winner - Matthew Winslade (Fasset - Langstone)

                                                   Finalists - Michael Rees (Aura Gas - Havant) / Joshua Smyth-Robins (P&I Generators - Havant)


  • Best New Business:  Winner - The Emsworth Brewhouse (Emsworth)

                                            Finalists - Obsession Hair and Beauty (Emsworth) / Turbulent Design (Langstone)


  • Best Local Tradesperson: Winner -  Kelly Edney (The Dust Dolly - Havant)

                                                   Finalists - Andy Watts (Motatalk Garage Services - Havant) / Ivor Copeland (Hayling Island)


  • Greatest Contriubution the the Community 2016: Winner - Tina Heath (Hayling Island) 

                                                                                                 Finalists - George 'Topsy' Turner (Emsworth) / Gary Robinson (Havant)


  • Business Personality of the Year 2016: Winner - Julie Parham (Purbrook)

                                                                             Finalists - Gary Robinson (Havant) / George 'Topsy' Turner (Emsworth)

Alan Mak MP E-Mail Newsletter SignUp

Alan Mak MP is active across the Havant constituency and in Parliament. Residents and others can keep up-to-date with Alan's work by signing-up for his regular e-mail newsletter. 

Click here to sign up for Alan's e-mail newsletter

Please encourage your friends, family, neighbours, colleagues and others to sign-up for Alan's newsletter. 


Please contact Alan by e-mail: Alan.Mak.MP@Parliament.uk